What to See and Do

Suggested short walks from Lingwood Lodge:

  • Take a lovely circular walk on level ground to Cockshott Point by the side of Lake Windermere then through the rolling park area known as the Glebe and into the village
  • Or make a short sharp climb of Brantfell behind the house for a magnificent panoramic view of the full length of the lake and return via a part of the Dales way back through the village

 

From your base in the heart of the Lake District, a short drive in any direction will take you to a huge choice of locations for delightful walks to marvel at the scenery in whatever the season.

Whether it be rushing becks on fell sides, snow capped mountain tops, high passes, dense forest or lakeside scenes, our beautiful Lakeland landscape never fails to delight.


Should the time ever come when you have run out of fells to explore and mountains to climb
the Central Lake District plays host to a vast array of visitor attractions and things to see and do on your holiday.

 

Take time to visit


The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction  www.hop-skip-jump.com
Abbott Hall Art Gallery in Kendal  www.abbotthall.org.uk
Abbot Hall Museum of Lakeland Life & Industry in Kendal  www.lakelandmuseum.org.uk
Armitt Musuem in Ambleside  www.armitt.com
Aquarium of the Lakes  www.lakesaquarium.co.uk
Beatrix Potter Gallery in Hawkshead (National Trust) www.nationaltrust.org.uk/beatrixpottergallery
Beatrix Potter's Home at Hill Top, Sawrey, across the lake by ferry  www.nationaltrust.org.uk/hilltop
Blackwell Arts & Crafts House  www.blackwell.org.uk
Brockhole - The Lake District National Park Visitor Centre www.brockhole.co.uk
Cumberland Pencil Museum in Keswick  www.pencilmuseum.co.uk
Ducky's Park Farm  www.duckysparkfarm.co.uk
Grizedale & Whinlatter forests (with Osprey viewing)  www.visitlakelandforests.co.uk
Hayes Garden World  wwwhayesgardenworld.co.uk
Holker Hall & Gardens  www.holker.co.uk
Honister Slate Mines  www.honister.com
John Ruskin's home at Brantwood  www.brantwood.org.uk
Lakeland Limited home of creative kitchenware by Windermere Station  www.lakeland.co.uk
Lakeland Motor Museum at Backbarrow  www.lakelandmotormuseum.co.uk
Lakeland Segway  www.lakelandsegway.co.uk
Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway  www.lakesiderailway.co.uk
Lake District Horticultural Society Garden at Holehird  www.holehirdgardens.org.uk
Leighton Moss RSPB Nature Reserve  www.rspb.org.uk/leightonmoss
Levens Hall and famous Topiary Garden  www.levenshall.co.uk
Mountain Goat Minibus Tours  www.mountain-goat/com
Muncaster Castle  www.muncaster.co.uk
Old Laundry Theatre in Bowness  www.oldlaundrytheatre.co.uk
The Puzzling Place in Keswick  www.puzzlingplace.co.uk
Ravenglass and Eskdale narrow gauge Steam Railway  www.ravenglass-railway.co.uk
Rheged Visitor and Exhibition Centre  www.rheged.com
Ruskin Museum in Coniston www.ruskinmuseum.com  &  www.bluebirdproject.com
Sizergh Castle and Gardens (National Trust)  www.nationaltrust.org.uk
South Lakes Wild Animal Park  www.wildanimalpark.co.uk
Stagecoach 599 Open Top Bus runs Bowness to Grasmere  www.stagecoachbus.com/northwest
Steam Yacht Gondola on Coniston (National Trust) www.nationaltrust.org.uk/gondola
Stott Park Bobbin Mill  www.english-heritate.org.uk
Theatre by the Lake  in Keswick  www.thatrebythelake.com
Town End Farm at Troutbeck (National Trust)  www.nationaltrust.org.uk/townend
Trotters world of Animals  www.trottersworld.com
Ullswater Steamers  www.ullswater-steamers.co.uk
William Wordsworth's homes at Dove Cottage and Rydal Mount www.wordsworth.org.uk
Windermere Lake Cruises  www.wintermere-lakecruises.co.uk
The villages of Windermere, Ambleside, Hawkshead, Coniston, Grasmere, Keswick
Towns of Kendal and Penrith

 

Local Sporting activities


Hire self-drive Motor Boats or Rowing Boats on Windermere just a short walk away
Pitch & Putt, Crazy Golf, Tennis on the Glebe
Ambleside Climbing Wall & Café  www.adventurepeaks.com
Boat Hire and Tuition  www.englishlakes.co.uk/watersports
Electric Bike Hire  www.electricbicyclenetwork.com/hireelectricbikes
Fishing on Esthwaite Water  www.hawksheadtrout.com
Go Ape Adventure assault course in Grizedale & Whinlatter forests  www.goape.co.uk
Off road 4 x 4 Driving  www.kankku.co.uk
Pony Trekking  www.lakelandponytreks.co.uk
Rock Climbing Tuition  www.kendalwall.co.uk
Windermere Cycle Hire  www.countrylaneslakedistrict.co.uk
Off road 4 x 4 Driving  www.kankku.co.uk

For more information about Cumbria, see www.visitcumbria.com